Merge units
This feature is currently in beta and is gradually rolling out. It may not be available to all organizations at this time.
Merging units is the process of combining all apps, sites, and users from one unit into another, creating a single shared collaboration boundary with a unified user directory and Teamwork Graph. If you have more than one unit, you may want to consolidate them to manage your Atlassian footprint and keep your apps, users, and groups in one place.
Only organization admins can initiate a merge request by contacting us.
When you merge units, we’ll transfer all your apps, users, and groups from one unit to another. After the transfer, the source unit gets deleted.
動作の仕組み
Merging units is a multi-phase process where apps and sites from the source unit are unlinked and relinked to the destination unit. We also create a temporary source unit during the unlinking and relinking process and delete both the source units later.
Unified directory: All users from both units are combined into a single user base.
Expanded collaboration boundary: The collaboration boundary range increases, allowing Rovo and cross-app search to access data across all sites in the new combined unit that users have access to. Existing app access and permissions will be retained.
Consolidated sites and apps: Merging will unlink all apps and sites associated with the source unit and relink them to the destination unit as-is.
Administrative shift: Source unit admins become unit admins in the destination unit.
Once units are merged, you can’t split them back into their original configurations. Splitting them later would require manual data transfer. Make sure you understand your data and collaboration requirements before merging units.
When to merge units
Before you begin, determine whether merging unit is right for you or if you should transfer your app data instead.
Difference between data transfer and unit merge
Data transfer copies specific app data between a source and destination site, whereas merging units doesn’t move individual projects or spaces between sites. It consolidates administrative and collaboration boundaries, including the user directory and Teamwork Graph of both units. Data transfer operates within enforced guardrails and soft limits - such as project and object copy thresholds - to ensure reliable migration performance.
You could consider merging units if:
your organization is over-partitioned and you want to simplify administration by having a single set of unit admins oversee a larger group of sites
you want to view and manage all users, verified domains, and app instances in a single unit
you want to configure a single allocation policy that provisions users across all sites in a single user directory
teams in separate units need to share a single Teamwork Graph for search, Rovo, and @mentions
if you want to maintain admin autonomy at the unit level while ensuring organization-wide security and policy control
When to keep units separate
You should avoid merging units if:
your current setup is highly complex, and the impact of resolving pre-flight blockers outweighs the benefits of consolidation
your compliance or regulatory constraints require you to keep users and data separate within your organization
What to keep in mind before merging units
Before you begin, you need to meet these prerequisites:
Don't remove your allocation policies before Support has prepared your merge plan.
User access settings in the source unit must be reset. How to Reset App Access Settings Before a Product Transfer.
No users should have a conflicting status across both units (for example, Active in one and Inactive in the other).
When you merge units, unit admins of the source unit become unit admins of the combined unit. To prevent this, reassign the source unit's admins to site admin before merging.
If both the source and destination units contain Studio, Studio in the merged unit won’t include Automation and Forge app builder data.
Atlassian will run pre-flight checks to identify blockers before initiating a merge. The steps to clear these blockers can vary depending on the type of blocker, for example, having a domain claimed in the source unit. For a detailed list of common blockers, see Resolving preflight blockers for an organization consolidation.
Request a unit merge
Before raising a request, identify the source and destination unit IDs, and the domains and integrations that require configuration.
To raise a request:
Go to Atlassian Support.
Under “What can we help you with?”, select Technical Issues and Bugs.
Under “Which product is this for?”, select Cloud Administration.
Fill in the required details, including your site URL (for example,
yoursite.atlassian.net).Make sure to include the source unit and destination unit details.
What happens during a merge
A dry run simulation is performed to preview changes. The merge can’t proceed without written approval of this report.
Once you approve the dry run, we’ll execute the merge during a scheduled window, including merging the user directory and Teamwork Graph.
During the execution window, some parts of Atlassian Administration will be in read-only mode. You can’t add apps, sites, users, create groups, Rovo agents, or modify subscriptions.
User access to Jira, Confluence, and other apps remains active throughout the process.
To avoid conflicts, groups with identical names in both units are renamed using the format
{groupName}-{SourceunitName}.If a user is active in one unit but inactive in the other, they’ll be inactive in the merged unit. Atlassian support will help identify and resolve these mismatches before the merge.
If you are merging more than two units sequentially, check with support when you can proceed with the next merge, as this may take up to 48 hours after the previous merge.
What to do after the merge
Once the units are merged:
Confirm that users have the correct app access and roles within the destination unit.
Review renamed groups to ensure they align with your naming conventions.
Confirm that Marketplace apps are functioning correctly and subscriptions are aligned within the merged unit.
Re-verify any domains that were removed from the source unit during the pre-consolidation.
Reconfigure user provisioning and identity provider allocation policies in the destination unit to reflect the new combined user base.
この内容はお役に立ちましたか?